top of page

A bit of logic, a bit of heart and some polka dots

I’m black and white person. That’s visible on the first sight if you see me life. Black and white with a blast of some polka dots. Freud would probably have a lot to say but I would say I’m leaning to extremes with having some fun in between. I’m definitely person who desperately seek for the logic in everything … no feelings no drama … just pure facts and logic.

On the other side I’m extremely sensitive. I can still not forget that I hit a dog with the car about 7 years ago and I can hashing over and over through discussion which upset me.

Today I wanted to write about Rimini.

And of course I see Rimini in black and white version with a lot of polka dots in between.

No, no, the black side of my view is not the desperate one … but the logical one. And the white is the one which can never be explained. At least not to the logical part in me. The beach, wind, the nice little cafes, the old neon signs … the inexplicable things which simply find a way to the human heart.

I will first focus on the black part …ok, not black but l.o.g.i.c.a.l.

The way how I analyzed Rimini and stop being afraid of getting lost.

  • I took a map of Rimini,

  • I took a photo camera,

  • went through all tiny and not so tiny streets

  • took map once again and here it is – I know how to handle it.

First part was easy – I know the map of Italy, it’s a boot with the coast from the both sides …plus at the bottom and it has mountains where the “opening for a leg” is. I also know that Rimini lies on the side which is visible from us … almost … ok, if we go a bit down to Croatia and have a big and good binocular.

Anyhow the main point is that cost lies on the east side of the city.

And I found out very quickly the main city center is not at the coast … so the tsunami can’t destroy it ... what was a big relief for me. Kidding ... a bit.

Logically I started with interpretation from the point where I’ve lived … so sorry guys if you are not planning your trip from that part… you maybe didn’t find parking there or you are not living at the south of the city …Though it’s very nice and looks also pretty safe if you are walking in this area during the nights.

So now you know …my first flat was at the south of the city. I walked from my flat for about 2 minutes across some unimportant roads and than I entered …ta-da (!) : here is my logic – the one and the most important road which goes from me …ok, south …or let say a jump or two away from the southern point of historical city of Rimini.

You go just straight away from this point to the most northern point and you’ve seen it all! Almost. And it takes it no more than 30… likely 20 minutes.

When we (are you with me or not?) park our vehicles next to the stadium … guys I’m at starting point again … so no matter if you park at the north, we go on a trip from south. Anyhow parking next to the stadium is very practical thing to do … first if it’s not Sunday when Italians are playing their Calco than there is plenty places available, second thing - no fee for parking there …and if I was able to walk that distance every day with my personal bag (which is no small at all) plus carrying 17” notebook and my lunch plus sometime an umbrella, than you can do it too! And it’s always easy to ask locals for directions if you got lost.

parking along the street

Everyone knows where the stadium is, don’t they?!… so, when we’ve parked and walk for 2 minutes a bit left and right, then becomes very easy, just going down the Via Flaminia or XX Setembre which changes further on into Corso d’Augosto.

Arco d'Augosto by night

You’ll be passing first important monument – Arco d’Augosto and when you’ll come to the second one - Ponte di Tiberio you’ll know it’s the end of your journey. Almost.

Because you MUST pass the old bridge and see a bit of the city from another part. And to take one piadina in NudeCrud …

but this is already for my second – white part of the Rimini expedition.

the "dust lady"

And while you are walking down to this very important …ok, logically very ;) important road, you are going to pass another two (logically) important points.

First is Piazza tre martiri (square 3 martyrs) and you have to hike and explore on the right and the left from it…

And second is Pizza …no, no, not pizza … at least not now … in logical part there is no place for this gorgeous food … so Piazza Cavour and of course you go and check what is on the left behind the walls of that imposing building and surely you go on the right on Via Gambalunga.

Yea, I know it sounds like a pirate ship or place from the story of Pippy Longstocking .... In Italian it even means something similar it's a Long leg street. And this is not because of its length but it's ... Ohhh, I can't find that explanation any more ...if you are curious than check wikisomething ... Don't bother me!

Don’t limit yourself … just prolong down this Longleg street.

When you bump into the ugliest building in Rimini, you’ll know you are at the right way toward the beach.

you know what ....

Yea, they have skyscrapers in Rimini too. I was told that every city in Italy has at least one. Obviously Italy had once the government which was even smarter than the past and the future ones. They said (at least I was told so) that every city has to build one high building. So they did. And since then Rimini has one. The only one which goes very high and is in the middle of your trip toward the beach.

My first flat was at the south - next to the stadium. My current flat is at the east … actually a jump away from the beach and unfortunately also few jumps southern from the point you breeze in to the beach.

Just telling you in case you are going to search for a bald lady with polka dots.

You might meet me in the mornings running from the entrance #80 (all the beach entrances are numbered) toward #20, maybe #10 …I’m slowly improving haha ... so maybe even #1

the map

See you! Hugs and kisses!

Save


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page